My New Year’s Resolution this year? Write more in my blog. It’s now January 31st, probably should get to that. :)

I can’t even remember what I wrote in my last post to be able to update from there, how sad is that? There was drama with the cat — who is now banished from the office because she seems to think there is nothing in here she can’t climb on! There were holidays and funerals, bad driving and worse weather – all in all it’s been an exciting month.

First, the quick stuff: I have a crush on my chiropractor (he’s a cutie and I think it could be mutual), my ex quit his job (with my approval – someone slap me), I have a new favorite book, it’s called 1001 Extraordinary Uses For Ordinary Things …who knew there were that many uses for baking soda, butter or empty buckets??  (Obviously, I’m only up to the B’s).

Aunt Margaret’s funeral was on January 13th, it was – to me – more of a church service with a little memorial thrown in than the affairs I’m used to, but it’s what Uncle Bob wanted, so whatever. We, the collective of mom, dad, Cami, Katie, Sam, Ally, me and Uncle Bob all spent exactly as much time in a two bedroom together as we could stand – about 18 hours (9 of which were spent sleeping). The girls did well, although they did abandon Katie twice in one day, both times involving bathroom visits. No idea what that’s all about.

The first time, Ally was in a stall, Sam came in to the bathroom with Katie – Sam apparently just left Katie there to do her thing telling Ally that she was leaving Katie there. Did I mention that Katie just turned 3 in November? Anyway, Katie finishes, Sam is gone and Ally is still, ahem, busy. So Katie just leaves. When Ally gets done, she does a cursory glance for Katie and then goes back to the funeral reception (you know, the part where everyone eats and cries at the same time). Ally doesn’t mention to anyone that Katie is missing, no mention to anyone that Sam had left Katie with her and Sam doesn’t ask. So about 5 minutes later I noticed that Katie wasn’t there and asked where she was. At that point Ally looks at Sam (who is sitting right next to her) and says “I thought you had her”. What?? How could she….she’s been with you….nevermind.

This all led to a panicked few minutes of searching until the ladies from the retirement home NEXT DOOR delivered a happily doted-on Katie back to the church. She’s fine, Cami didn’t know anything until it’s all over…we are all okay.

Needless to say, the girls were as severely punished as a parent can punish their child while in the middle of a funeral reception. Which apparently wasn’t harsh enough because they did it again the next day. Nanny material they obviously are not.

The second job is not going well – I’m not doing things nearly fast enough for my bosses, I’m so stressed because I know they’re not happy with me that it makes me want to avoid my work – which means I do things slower – which pisses them off – which stresses me out.

You see the pattern.

Anyway, I haven’t decided what I want to do. I love the work. LOVE the work, but the job – eh. This was never intended to be a long term 2nd job. It was supposed to turn into something I could support myself with, but it’s not and I don’t think it will. I don’t get very many cases at all – some of that due to the fact that I’m not fast enough so they don’t give me many cases and some of it because there just aren’t that many cases I can do or to do for that matter. All that combined with the fact that I am making less at this job than my other, without benefits, makes it difficult. I wish I could guarantee that this was going to get better (less stressful) and be able to support us, but I just don’t know.

I admit, there’s a little pride/ego there too- I mean how freaking cool is it that I get to tell people when they ask what I do that “I’m a P.I.”? Who wouldn’t want to be able to say that?? Only thing that sounds cooler is “I’m a spy” but that’s not a job you can do when you’re seriously overweight and have a twelve-year-old at home. Or at least that opportunity hasn’t fallen in my lap yet. To have to give up telling people that and go back to my boring “I’m a paralegal/office manager” just is NOT the same.

The house is good – although there’s an ominous running water sound in the bathroom ALL the time that makes me nervous and is driving me slowly insane. I am 89% sure it’s the leaky faucet attached to the hose outside, but I (of course) worry it’s some broken pipe somewhere under the house that’s slowly sucking us into a pit – but I just haven’t had the time to find out. Apparently I have to find the main shut-off valve for the house, but heck if I know where that is! Plus, it’s too cold to go outside!

Speaking of cold, we got a record 7 inches of snow in 24 hours here, conveniently preceded by 1.5 inches of freezing rain. Woohoo – SNOW DAYS! Not for me, but for Ally. Unfortunately, she was sick the whole time (thanks Charlie the Chain Smoking Chimney) and didn’t get to enjoy any of it. I -oh joy- got to drive in it, thank God I got those damned $600.00 snow tires on my car.

I know, I can hear you out there thinking $600.00!! That’s way too much to pay for snow tires! For Pete’s sake April, you live in the desert – why ever did you spend all that??

Why? I’ll tell you why, because no one told me I didn’t have to, that’s why. Those were the cheapest studs Les Schwab had, and I needed to go over the pass for the funeral, so I bought them. It wasn’t until I was AT HOME and had DRIVEN ON THEM that my dad (who I talked to while I was buying them) said, “oh honey, you should have just bought re-treads. They would have done you just fine, and they only cost $150.00.”

Dad’s funeral is next week – we plan to lose at least two kids at that one. :)

Just kidding. Love ya dad (not that he reads this, he’s aversion for computers reigns supreme). Oh well, mom will pass this along to him I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

