Ahh, good old tech support…

This is the actual transcript (read: copied and pasted from chat box) of my convoluted conversation with McAfee tech support. The first part is the question that you send before chat even starts. The rest is the chat portion of our entertainment for today. Enjoy.

FYI: You have to set up an account so that you can get updates and emails, etc from the company.

≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡

I have 4 computers, I bought two 3-user versions of McAfee Internet Security Suite so that I could cover all four computers – is that going to cause problems with licensing? Do I install like normal on the first 3 computers and on the 4th set up a new account?
Sriram: Hi, my name is Sriram and I will be assisting you today.
Customer: hello…did you already see my question or do I need to repeat myself? :)
Sriram: you would like to add a licence for teh fourth computer, correct?
Customer: no, I have two discs for 3 users each, just need to know how best to install that fourth computer so I don’t confuse things
Customer: I bought them separately, (separate boxes etc)
Customer: I would like all of them to be with the same user name, account info, but if that will confuse the issue because it’s two separate install discs, no problem
Sriram: you don’t have to install McAfee through Cd and you can download McAfee through Internet.
Customer: okay, but do I have to pay again for the 4th computer if I try to download more than 3?
Sriram: Yes, you have to pay for the fourth since you have licence only for 3 computers.
Customer: okay, but I have, essentially, 6 licenses because I bought two 3-user discs…right?
Sriram: If you have 6 licence user pack, you can install teh fourth computer.
Customer: no. I have 2 discs
Customer: one is for 3 users
Customer: the other is also for 3 users
Customer: bought separately
Sriram: If you have two 3 user licence packs, you can install it on the fourth PC.
Customer: that’s what I thought. My question is, can I use the same account information (log-in, password, etc) for the 4th computer/second disc
Sriram: yes, you can use the same account information for the fuorth computer
Customer: okay, that’s all I needed to know. Thank you

≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡

For God’s sake!! Was I not clear? Is this SO hard to figure out? I have TWO discs! TWO! No, I don’t need another license, I have TWO DISCS!! They both have a big “3 USERS” in big, bold, red printing on the damned disc.

sheesh

One response to “Ahh, good old tech support…

  1. I purchased a Dell Laptop that came with the McAfee 30 day trial. You know how you get the option of buy or remind me in 3 days, I opted to buy. That was on Monday, it’s now Friday, still no virus protection and I am on my 5th phone call today and have been on hold for over a hour. Think I am going to cancel and buy a different program.

Leave a Reply

